Einklappen
X

• Filter
  • Zeit
  • Anzeigen
Alles löschen
neue Beiträge

• Buckling in l member

What’s the correct way to study bucking in an L member? I’m studying it with the following methods, and results are very different:

Case 1: Stability analysis according to 6.3.1. I define in RF-Steel effective lengths from RF-Stability. Ratio: 1.05
    Case 2: Stability analysis according to 6.3.4. Ratio: 1.03
    Case 3: 7 GDL. Ratio: 1.97
    Case 4: I use RF-IMP to generate pre-deformed model and I study resistance in RF-Steel. Ratio: 1.92
    Zuletzt geändert von Helena Goni; 07.01.2022, 17:31.

Hello,

the differences between case 1 and case 2 are small and, in my opinion, are due to the different methods.

It is very interesting that case 3 shows a much larger ratio. I would guess that the problem is not purely a buckling problem, but that lateral torsional buckling also plays a role.

Case 4 should actually come out with something similar to cases 1 or 2. You might want to check the FE mesh.

Perform the test with a slightly smaller load so that the ratio in case 1 is less than 1.0. The load in the range above 1 is not necessarily the same for different methods.

Check whether the same cross-section classes were used for the verification in cases 1 and 4.

Frank Faulstich
    Support Team der
    Dlubal Software GmbH
    [email protected]
    https://www.dlubal.com

Kommentar

Thanks Frank!

I’ve performed the test with a slightly smaller load, and this is the result:
      Case 1: Stability analysis according to 6.3.1. I define in RF-Steel effective lengths from RF-Stability. Ratio: 0.96
      Case 2: Stability analysis according to 6.3.4. Ratio: 0.95
      Case 3: 7 GDL. Ratio: 1.24
      Case 4: I use RF-IMP to generate pre-deformed model and I study resistance in RF-Steel. Ratio: 1.18

I’m really surprised because ratio in cases 3 and 4 has decreased a lot! The first test was considering a factor 0.60, and now I’ve changed it to 0.55: